A Piece of Patchogue History
The BrickHouse Brewery building, at the
corner of Havens Avenue and Main Street, is the oldest
commercial building in Patchogue. It was built around 1850
as a dry goods store, and was operated by John S. Havens
until 1914, when it was purchased by James G. Shand.
The photo at right shows how the
building looked as Shands before we purchased the it
from the Shand family in 1995. The Shands operated a
hardware store there until around 1990. The sign
you see was revealed after we removed several layers
of paint from the building, during a renovation.
We kept the sign in place after an informal poll of
village residents showed an overwhelming desire to do
The building has quite a colorful history. Its foundation
is built from a ship ballast, which were plentiful at that
time in this shipbuilding community on Great South Bay.
During the Civil War, the building was a stop on the
underground railroad, and escaped slaves were hidden in
Many old time Patchogue residents remember Shand's as the
kind of store that had everything. Today, the
BrickHouse Brewery is known as a must-visit for fine food
and great beer.
Visit this beautiful part of Patchogue
history, click here for
directions to BrickHouse Brewery and Restaurant.